Customer ratings for store JustStrings.com

Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324

Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5FernandOctober 10, 2014I went overboard with Thomastiks. These flatwound bass strings are what the great session players like Carol Kaye use with a pick, I think Carol's maybe even playing the very same set she used on all the great 1960s Motown hits - they do last ;-) Nobody makes strings like Thomastik, it's that simple. Anyway, I got TIs for several basses, not a cheap proposition, and then realized that although they all sounded and played stone great, these strings are so unique it transformed them all into TI basses. It's like suddenly having a fleet of Bentleys. Go for groceries? a Bentley. Go to the opera? a Bentley. Down to the dispensary? a Bentley. So I had to back off a bit ;-) These are very flexible and low tension, very expressive, do not fear, they have plenty of body. My one bass that they most completely and irreversibly melded with is a short scale fretless 4 string. A wonderful little SX that cost only a little more than a set of TI flats. With short scale, the tension is even lower, it's like a chorus of shiny snakes is working magically with your fingers, each one wiggling and stretching to please. Amazing. My 1963 P-Bass ended up with some more poppabble Nickel roundwounds, and my 6 string fretless still has its D'Addario Chrome flats until the day comes and I unpack that 6 set of TI flats that is waiting for it. I check in the Strings Box now and then to make sure it hasn't escaped. No string fits every occasion. Or every bass. Now, if you have no TI flats, you MUST get at least one set, or two. If you mount them carefully, you can move them between instruments until you find the perfect marriages. And when you do, well, you might just go nuts like I did.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5LONZOJanuary 3, 2013These are absolutely the best bass strings I have ever used. I have a short scale Gibson SG bass and I totally agree with the reviewer that stated the strings make your bass sound the way it should. A true sound of the particular bass they are strung on. Yes, they are pricey, but they LAST! I will never use any other strings. Everyone that hears my bass says they want a Gibson bass, but I tell them what they really want are these strings! Worth every penny.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 1WayneJune 29, 2012I brought my bass and these strings in to the local luthier to get set up. The g-string unravelled while tightening. I called and sent emails to the distributor. I'd even pay shipping and cost. They are nice strings but for the price and poor service I will not purchase again.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5DougDecember 26, 2011After some unsuccessful attempts to find a set of flatwounds that both fit my short scale Birdsong Cortobass and sounded good (or even acceptable), I purchased a set of these Thomastik-Infeld Short Scale Flats. Although they are indeed a tad pricey, they are the best investment in a set of strings that I have ever made. They are a perfect fit for this bass (of course), and they have a rich, warm tone with the correct amount of tension on the 31" scale of the Cortobass. This is also the first set of strings that I have had on this bass that gave me perfect intonation in every neck position with almost no need for any string length adjustments at the bridge! I'll certainly be buying more of these great strings.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5H. Moore Jr.June 10, 2010Last November you sent me a email to comment on the product that I purchased. From then until now my opinion is still the same. 5 stars all the way around.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5SammyMarch 11, 2010I love these strings. Mostly because they don't cover up what your bass sounds like, in other words, they make your bass sound like how your bass is supposed to sound. I've put this set on my stingray and it sounds great, greater when I lowered the action. The tension is very light which makes it easy to play and stuff. I also like the color and the texture of the silk. It's red and is a little bit edger I guess you could say. OVERALL GREAT STRINGS I recommend them for any genre and any bass. Just make sure you order the correct scale!! These 32'' fit my stingray but I needed to buy 36'' for my jazz bass due to the G string tuner peg being up so high past the nut.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5GeorgiebassMarch 7, 2010I got these for my Guild StarfireII. Previously I had got Rotosound Jazz Short scale Monel Flatwounds but amazingly they were too short. The Thomastik fit perfectly and sound AMAZINGLY. Finally I found the sound I was looking for,that deep thunder like round sound with presence and definition. I love this strings and personally recommend them.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5JIm SaylorNovember 27, 2009My review same as Eric's. A little pricey, but well worth it. The A string sounds a little brighter than the rest of the set. That Viola came to life with these strings.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 4Eric SchumannOctober 8, 2009I ordred these strings because they have a small ball on the end of the string. Due to the issue of the Epiphone Viola, the string of a flat wound required a small ball to fit in the bridge. These strings are the only ones flat wound that does so that I know of. Though the E string is a bit big for it, and the upper E is a bit small, it works, and now I have flatwounds for my Viola. So well worth it.
Thomastik-Infeld Electric Bass Nickel Flat Wound Roundcore 4 String 32" Scale, .043 - .106, JF324star rating 5BenSeptember 4, 2009If you own a short scale bass, you owe it to yourself to try a set of theses strings. On my DeArmond Starfire w/ Dark Star pickups, it just sounds incredible. String to string balance is spot on. Buttery smooth feel, no finger noise. Most musical strings I've ever played.
Reviews provided by StarProductReviews